Transparency and Integrity


SIM Swap Centres To Be Established In 774 LGAs In Nigeria


FG Gives Approval For Establishment Of Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) Swap Centres In 774 Local Government Areas In Nigeria.

The federal government has approved the establishment of dedicated subscriber identity module (SIM) swap centres in each of the 774 local government areas in the country.

The information was made available to Nigerians in a statement which was jointly signed by Ikechukwu Adinde, the director of public affairs of the Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC), and Kayode Adegoke, head of corporate communications at the National Identity Management Commission (NIMC), on Wednesday.

MediaOrchid recalls that the federal government had in January given license to private and public sector organisations, inclusive of telcos, to carry out NIN registration on the directive of Isa Pantami, minister of communications and digital economy. 

Pantami had directed telcos to suspend the sale, registration and activation of new SIM cards until an audit of the subscriber registration database is completed.

According to the statement, following the decision taken at the 4th ministerial task force meeting on the NIN registration, there is now an extension from one year to now five years of the NIN enrolment agent licenses granted to mobile network operators. An update on the April 6 deadline issued by the Federal government for linking National Identity Numbers (NIN) was however not given. 

The statement Read, 

“This is a deliberate effort of the federal government to simplify the enrolment process for Nigerians and legal residents. 

“The technical committee was mandated to complete the development of a new SIM issuance strategy that cannot be compromised. This will ensure that there is no repeat of the past process that was compromised through pre-registration by some agents.

“A multi-sectoral adhoc committee was tasked to immediately complete the review of the processes for new SIM activations for legal residents staying in Nigeria for less than 24 months. The membership of the committee was drawn from NCC, NIMC, Nigeria Immigration Service and the Association of Licensed Telecoms Operators of Nigeria (ALTON).”

No comments:

Post a Comment