Transparency and Integrity


Exclusive: 'Imo By- Election', Confusion As Videos Announcing Two Different Persons As Flag bearers Emerges

The Senatorial By-Election Primaries of the All Progressives Congress (APC) conducted on Thursday September 3 2020 in Imo North though peaceful, yet has been followed by drama after two videos;  one announcing the candidature of Senator Ifeanyi Ararume and the other announcing Hon. Frank Ibezim hit the internet.

MediaOrchid recalls that Frank Ibezim had earlier been rumored to be a preferred concensus candidate of the APC in Imo state.

Sources revealed that Ibezim who is a godson to Hon. Emeka Nwajiuba the Minister for Education (State) was also been backed by Sen. Hope Uzodinma, the governor Imo state.

Imolites were however thrown into confusion after two videos announcing both Ararume and Ibezim as candidates for the APC emerged leading to heated arguments on various social media platforms.

The race for Imo North Senatorial seat began following the passing away of late Senator Benjamin Uwajumogu who represented Imo North Senatorial District in the 9th senate.

Other aspirants that contested are ;
1. Matthew Omegara           
2. Achonu Attanasius Nneji                     
3. Uchendu Mark Chijioke       
4. Uche na Onyeiwu Mbah       
5. Eze Okoro  Joachim                             
6. Bright Nwachukwu Uchenna               
7. Onuoha Chikwem Chijioke     
8. Ihim Iheancho Celestine
9. Chidinma Edith Uwajimogu the sister to late senator Benjamin Uwajumogu.

There has been an uproar as a faction of the APC is been accused of adopting a candidate as against the expected direct primaries.

One of the leaders of the APC in Imo state who chose to remain anonymous however claims that three (3) contestants have emerged winners.

He said,

" Three candidates have emerged as winners in the All Progressives Congress (APC) Primary election for the Imo North Senatorial District by-election.

" The elections conducted by three factions of the party were across the six local government areas and 64 wards, through the direct mode of primaries today Thursday, 3rd 2020.

" The parallel results after the conduct of the exercise produced, Senator Athan Achonu, as the winner of APC faction with 24,800 Ifeanyi, Sen Ararume as the winner of one the factions scoring 22,944 votes, while Frank Ibezim emerged winner of the other APC faction with 13,637 votes.
The three results were announced by the APC Primary election committee Chairmen, Umar Gana, and Senator Surajudeen Bashir and Sen Garuba who monitored the three parallel exercise for APC."

He also added that all the candidates are laying claims to their victories with properly signed results.

No comments:

Post a Comment