Transparency and Integrity


Edo 2020: Ganduje, Caught On Video Collecting ‘Bribe,’ Heads APC Campaign

Kano Governor Ganduje caught on video receiving dollars from suspected contractors appointed to head the APC Campaigns for the upcoming elections in Edo state.

Nigeria’s ruling party, APC, has appointed the Kano State Governor, Abdullahi Ganduje, to head its campaign council for the Edo State governorship election.

Premium Times reported how Mr Ganduje was caught on video, in 2018, collecting cash in dollars from a contractor in the state.

The Kano governor frustrated a probe by the state assembly of the scandal as he secured a court injunction to stop the probe.

Journalist Jafaar Jafaar, who sourced the video, appeared before the lawmakers and defended the authenticity of the video.

Mr Ganduje, who enjoys immunity from prosecution as a sitting governor, has not been probed for the scandal by any anti-graft agency.

The Kano governor won his re-election last year despite the bribery scandal.

On Thursday, the APC named him as the head of a 49-member committee for the campaign in Edo State.

The APC’s candidate in the September 19 governorship election in Edo is Osagie Ize-Iyamu, a pastor who decamped from the main opposition party, PDP.

Mr Ize-Iyamu’s main challenger is incumbent governor Godwin Obaseki who decamped from the APC to the PDP.

A total of 14 parties will be taking part in the election.

The Governor of Kano State, H.E. Dr. Abdullahi Umar Ganduje has been appointed by the Caretaker/Extra-Ordinary National Convention Planning Committee of the All Progressives Congress (APC) to chair the Party’s high-level National Campaign Council for the Edo State Governorship Election.

The Governor of Imo State, H.E. (Sen) Hope Uzodinma will serve as Deputy Chairman and Hon. Abbas Braimoh as Secretary of the 49-member APC National Campaign Council.

This followed the approval for the constitution of a National Campaign Council for the 19th September, 2020 Governorship Election, by the National Chairman of the APC Caretaker/Extra-Ordinary National Convention Planning Committee, H.E. Mai Mala Buni.

The campaign council will be inaugurated on Monday, 6th July 2020 at the Party’s National Secretariat.

Full list of 49-member APC National Campaign Council for Edo guber

1. H.E. Dr. Abdullahi Umar Ganduje – Chairman

2. H.E. (Sen.) Hope Uzodinma – Deputy Chairman

3. Sen. Ovie Omo-Agege – Member

4. H.E. Inuwa Yahaya – Member

5. H.E. Alh. Yahaya Bello – Member

6.H.E. Babajide Sanwo-Olu – Member

7.H.E. (Chief) John Odigie-Oyegun – Member

8. H.E. Comrade Adams Oshiomhole – Member

9. Sen. Aliyu Magatakarda Wamakko – Member

10. H.E. Sen. Godswill Akpabio – Member

11. H.E. Sen. Orji Uzor Kalu – Member

12. H.E. Sen. Owelle Roachas Okorocha – Member

13. H.E. Timipre Sylva – Member

14. H.E. Dr. Pius Odubu – Member

15. Sen. Degi Eremiemyo Biobaraku – Member

16. H.E. Prof. Oserheimen A. Osunbor – Member

17. H.E. Emmanuel Eweta Uduaghan -Member

18. Sen. John Owan Enoh – Member

19. Rt. Hon. E.J. Agbonayiman – Member

20. Engr. Babachir Lawal – Member

21. Prince B.B. Apugo – Member

22. Gen. Charles Airhiavbere – Member

23. Hon. Peter Akpatason – Member

24. Hon. Patrick Alsowleren – Member

25. Hon. Johnson Oghuma – Member

26. Hon. Prof. Julius Ihonvbere – Member

27. Hon. Pally Iriase – Member

28. Hon. Dennis Idahosa – Member

29. Mrs. Rachel Akpabio – Member

30. Mr. Bolaji Afeez – Member

31. Engr. Gabriel Iduseri – Member

32. Chief Cairo Ojougboh – Member

33. Patrick Obahiagbon – Member

34. Chief Ayiri Emami – Member

35. Hon. Abubakar Adagu Suberu – Member

36. Usman Nahuche – Member

37. Engr. Chidi Orji – Member

38. Dr. Almajiri Giadam – Member

39. Sen. Sa’idu Umar Kumo – Member

40. Chief Pius Akinyelure – Member

41. Engr. Chris Ogiemwonyi – Member

42. Chief Solomon Edebiri – Member

43. Prof. Ebegue Amadasun – Member

44. Hon. Saturday Uwulekue – Member

45. Hon. Osaro Obaze – Member

46. Chief Samuel Ogbuku – Member

47. Miss. Rinsola Abiola – Member

48. Theresa Tekenel – Member

49. Hon. Abbas Braimoh – Member/Secretary

Source :
Samson Adenekan
Premium Times

No comments:

Post a Comment